For my first post, I am going to talk about how confidence can influence play. Before each practice our coach tells us to stick our chests out and believe your the best. Girls always find some way to bring themselves down and that can effect our play.

Confidence is something good teams always have. Great teams walk into the gym and tell themselves they are the best team here and we are going to win every game. There is a big difference between being cocky and being confident. It is not always bad to be a little selfish and tell yourself you are better then the other team. Having this voice in your head will help win sets and dominate matches.

My experience with confidence is a good one. Coming into college, everything was new and I was just a little freshman. My confidence was an all time low. I told myself I do not want to be on the bench and I want to do my part on the court. In order to do this I knew I had to be the most confident in the gym or i had to “fake it till I make it.”

What experience do you have when your confidence was just at an all time low? What did you do to get yourself out of it?